Skip to content

Adair County Research Links

Kentucky History and Genealogy Network, Inc.



Adair county the 44th in order of formation and was erected in 1801 out of Green county. It is situated in the south middle part of the state is bounded on the north by Green and Taylor counties, east by Casey and Russell, south by Cumberland, and west by Metcalfe and Green counties. The face of the country is hilly soil, second rate based principally on slate and limestone. It is watered by Green river and its tributaries, Russell’s, White oak, Case’s, Glen’s Fork, Pettus, Sulphur, Harrod’s, Crocus, Butler’s, and Big creeks and the east fork of Little Barren river. Its principal productions are corn, wheat, and tobacco, hogs, horses, and cattle. Its towns are Columbia the county seat, population 600, with brick courthouse built in 1801 and six churches Nectsville, 14 miles NW from Columbia population 50, Milltown 7 miles s W population 100, and Glens Fork 8 miles s E population 90.

From “Collins’ Historical Sketches of Kentucky, Second Edition” 1878



DNA Research 

Family History

Local Government Resource